Central North Carolina Council is proud to partner with the:  

Rowan County United Way

United Way of Richmond County 

United Way of Stanly County







DistrictsInteractive District Map

















New District Names

The new “Cannon” district will be all of Cabarrus county previously Concord and Kannapolis Districts.  “Cannon” was chosen to honor the former Cannon Mills Company and the Cannon Family. Both have been tremendous supporters of Scouting. 

Anson and Richmond Districts will combine to form the "Pee Dee" district.  “Pee Dee” is a direct reference to the Great Pee Dee river which flows between both Anson and Richmond counties. Its significance as trade route for commerce from North Carolina to Charleston dates back to the 1800's

Formerly known as Union District, Union county area will change it’s name to "Old Hickory" District.  “Old Hickory” is the nickname of Andrew Jackson, the 7th president of the US and native of the Waxhaw region in Union County. He acquired the nickname as an Army officer during the War of 1812 where his troops frequently referred to him as being "tough as old hickory wood".  

Rowan District, serving Rowan County, will be changing to “Sapona" (Sappony) District.  Sapona is a Native American tribe that once resided in Rowan County.  The tribe’s history is one of family bonds, hard work, moral values and loyalty. It is the history of a people whose lives changed with the changing of times — from hunters and farmers of pre-contact days to trading partners with the English during colonial times to tenant and landed farmers throughout the 1800s and 1900s to a contemporary Indian people in a diversified world today.    

Stanly and Montgomery District will combine to become “Uwharrie” District.  "Uwharrie" is the name of the National Forest and ancient mountain range making up the hills and mountains of both counties.  Legend says this is the name of a Native American group who lived here.


Central NC Council, BSA

32252 Hwy 24-27  PO Box 250, Albemarle, NC 28001

(704) 982-0141 (office) | (704) 982-0262 (fax)

Copyright © 2016 Central NC Council.  All Rights Reserved.